About Us

The Iowa Racing & Gaming Commission was created by the Pari-Mutuel Wagering Act in May of 1983.  The Act provides for a Commission consisting of five members who shall be appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Iowa Senate, and who shall serve not to exceed a three-year term at the pleasure of the Governor.  No more than three members of the Commission may be affiliated with the same political party.

The Commission is charged with the Administration of the Iowa Pari-Mutuel Wagering Act and Excursion Boat Gambling Act which mandate the Commission shall have full jurisdiction over and shall supervise all race meetings and gambling excursions governed by Iowa Code Chapters 99D and 99F.  The Commission appoints an Administrator for a four-year term, who is responsible for the daily operations of the Commission.

Printed from the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission website on January 16, 2021 at 8:55pm.